Giveaway: "The Summer Queen"

"The Summer Queen"
By Elizabeth Chadwick
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Release Date: June 3, 2013

Summary from goodreads:

Eleanor of Aquitaine is a 12th century icon who has fascinated readers for 800 years. But the real Eleanor remains elusive.

This stunning novel introduces an Eleanor that all other writers have missed. Based on the most up-to-date research, it is the first novel to show Eleanor beginning her married life at 13.

Overflowing with scandal, passion, triumph and tragedy, Eleanor's legendary story begins when her beloved father dies in the summer of 1137, and she is made to marry the young prince Louis of France. A week after the marriage she becomes a queen and her life will change beyond recognition . . .


Book Trailer:




Buy Links
IndieBound: http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781402294068


GIVEAWAY RULES
The publicist has generously provided a copy of this book for a lucky reader of my blog.
All you have to do is fill out the Rafflecopter form below.
  • US only
  • Prizes will be mailed out by the publicist
  • Must be 18 or over 
  • Ends July 30
Thanks to everyone for entering! Good luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Disclosure: I was not compensated for this post, the publicist will provide a book to the giveaway winner.

"My Zombie Hamster" Review

"My Zombie Hamster"
by Havelock McCreely


Publisher: Egmont USA
Release Date: July 8, 2014
Source: sent by publisher

My Rating: 4.5 of 5 Stars

Summary from goodreads.com:
A laugh-out-loud funny middle-grade debut with a scary twist, "My Zombie Hamster" will appeal to readers who like their animal stories mixed with chills. Fans of R.L. Stine's Goosebumps Most Wanted series will grab this one right up.
Matt Hunter and his buddies are looking forward to Christmas--actually, they're looking forward to receiving the latest sword-and-fantasy video game. But Matt's parents have other thoughts--they give him a fluffy little mammal, a hamster called Snuffles, for the holiday. And his grandmother makes it worse by giving him a hamster cage and wheel. But the hamster isn't all that cute--at least not after part of its cheek and belly fall right off--without bothering it a bit! And why is it staring at Matt with black beady eyes and a lean and hungry look?
Say hello to Anti-Snuffles, the zombie hamster! Or better yet, run!
This series combines middle-school readers' passions: humor, animals, and scary stories, into one unbeatable package.
My Review:

This book is seriously adorable. I was chuckling the entire time I read this one. I loved the author's style of humor, it was so witty, and he has a knack for making every day observances so funny! The author sets up a world where zombies live with humans that is believable and easy to understand. The characters are great as well, but I think the real stand out element of this book is the humor.

Matt is a great lead, he's a real kid who most young readers should be able to relate to. I love his best friend, Charlie, who is one tough little girl!Anti-Snuffles himself is hilarious. He really doesn't have a huge number of appearances in the book, so when you do get to see him and his antics, they are so fun to read about.

The book does take a turn that I didn't expect, which turns out to be a great plot element. It really ends up being the heart of the story, and you learn a valuable lesson as well.


Main Characters: 4/5
Supporting Characters: 4/5
Setting: 4/5

Romance: N/A

Uniqueness: 5/5
Cover: 5/5
Writing: 5/5


Bottom Line: This time, you can judge a book by it's cover, because this story is just as fun, adorable, and quirky as that great cover!




Disclosure: I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Sunday Shout Out 52


Recently, I introduced a new feature here at In the Hammock on Sundays. It's called "Sunday Shout Out" and it's a place where I can give a special shout out to those publishers and authors who have sent me books over the week, as well as those bloggers who have hosted contests that I've won! I'll also be giving shout outs to any other cool books, blogs or bookish news that I've spotted during the week.

For Review


 "Mighty Dads" by Joan Holub, illustrated by James Dean
 

"Mini Myths: Be Patient, Pandora!" by Joan Holub, illustrated by Leslie Patricelli


"Mini Myths: Play Nice, Hercules!" by Joan Holub, illustrated by Leslie Patricelli

 
"Forged by Desire" by Bec McMaster


"Finding Miss McFarland" by Vivienne Lorret


"The Cowboy and the Angel" by T.J. Kline


"Haatchi & Little B" by Wendy Holden





What books did you receive this week?


Waiting on Wednesday 257


Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine, and it is a way to show off the books you can't wait to be released!!

This week I chose: 

"Illusions of Fate"
by Kiersten White
Harper Teen
Release Date:  Sep 9, 2014


Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare in this lush, romantic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White.

“I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Kiersten White captured readers’ hearts with her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy and its effortless mix of magic and real-world teenage humor. She returns to that winning combination of wit, charm, and enchantment in Illusions of Fate, a sparkling and romantic new novel perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Madman’s Daughter, and Libba Bray.

Magical Downton Abbey? Yes, please!! I can't wait!

What are you waiting for this week???

Sunday Shout Out 52


Recently, I introduced a new feature here at In the Hammock on Sundays. It's called "Sunday Shout Out" and it's a place where I can give a special shout out to those publishers and authors who have sent me books over the week, as well as those bloggers who have hosted contests that I've won! I'll also be giving shout outs to any other cool books, blogs or bookish news that I've spotted during the week.

For Review


 "Snow White Lucks Out" Grimmtastic Girls #3 by Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams
 

"Of Monsters and Madness" by Jessica Verday


"My Zombie Hamster" by Havelock McCreely


"Better When He's Bad" by Jay Crownover





What books did you receive this week?


Last Day! Hometown Love Bundle just .99 Cents!

In the Hammock shout out to one of our sponsors: "Hometown Love!"

Today is your last chance to pick up the "Hometown Love" bundle from Bliss for just .99 cents!

 Grab it before it's gone!

For one low price of 99cents you get all three full length novels!
http://bit.ly/TC7omy


"Hometown Love: A Bliss Bundle"
by Rachel Harris, Ophelia London, and Kelley Vitollo
Publisher: Bliss

Release Date: May 27, 2014

Summary from the publisher:

Three novels that prove love can always be found right at home

There’s nothing quite like the comfort and serenity of returning home again, especially when combined with the sizzle and excitement of finding true love. This limited-edition contemporary romance boxed set from Entangled’s Bliss line features three fun and flirty small-town stories sure to make you laugh, sigh, and smile long after you’ve turned the last page.

Taste the Heat by Rachel Harris: Colby Robicheaux knows her brother’s best friend—delectable fire captain Jason Landry—is off-limits, and anyway, she’s only back home for a short time. Jason’s looking for someone to help him raise his preteen daughter, not a fling, but Colby’s all grown up and tempting as ever.

Playing at Love by Ophelia London: When Tess Johansson’s music program gets pitted against Jack Marshall’s football program in a battle for funding, she knows only one of them can win. Jack might be the summer love she never forgot, but her job means everything to her. Competing against the enemy was never quite this much fun.

Lucky Break by Kelley Vitollo: Sydney Williams might have come home to her small town of Shamrock Falls, but it’ll take more than that to rekindle a broken friendship with her childhood best friend, Kade Mitchell. When friendship turns to sparks turns to more, will Kade be able to convince his best friend to gamble on forever?





FTC Disclosure: "Hometown Love" is an advertising sponsor of this blog.



Sunday Shout Out 51


Recently, I introduced a new feature here at In the Hammock on Sundays. It's called "Sunday Shout Out" and it's a place where I can give a special shout out to those publishers and authors who have sent me books over the week, as well as those bloggers who have hosted contests that I've won! I'll also be giving shout outs to any other cool books, blogs or bookish news that I've spotted during the week.

For Review


 "Empire Girls" by Suzanne Hayes and Loretta Nyhan

 
"Thorn Jack" by Katherine Harbour


"Falling for Max" by Shannon Stacey


"The Homecoming" by Robyn Carr


 "The Chance" by Robyn Carr


"Wild Iris Ridge" by RaeAnne Thayne


"The Good Girl" by Mary Kubica
 

 "The Fragile World" by Paula Treick DeBoard
 
 
Contest Wins

 "The Secret Diamond Sisters" by Michelle Madow


won from About To Read with an awesome prize pack!

 "The Falconer" by Elizabeth May


won from vvb32Reads!

What books did you receive this week?


Related Posts with Thumbnails