Giveaway and Review: "Tempted by a Warrior"

As part of the "Tempted by a Warrior" blog tour, I have my review and a giveaway of 5 copies of the book, sponsored by Hachette!


"Tempted by a Warrior"
by Amanda Scott

Source: provided for review by Hachette Books

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My Review:


Lady Fiona Jardine was married to the heir to the Jardine lands, Will, and also carried his child. The only trouble was that her husband was missing and many suspected her of killing him. The Old Jardine laird was ill, so he called upon the Laird of Kirkhill to be trustee of both Fiona and the baby if Will does turn out to be dead. Kirkhill quickly learned that Fiona wouldn't be easy to tame.

This book just wasn't for me, but maybe Amanda Scott fans and fans of a more old fashioned kind of romance will like it. I like my historical romances to have more of a modern mentality with the interactions between the hero and heroine. I feel like this one was too old-fashioned in it's traditional gender roles.

Fiona was only 17 and she really came across as both pitiful and also irritating. She was so very broken at the beginning, pregnant by an abusive husband with bruises and injuries to show it. Also, it seemed like she did a lot of jumping around for attention, but no one really paid her any.

Kirkhill was dull and didn't have much personality to speak of. I would rather see well developed characters than a murder mystery plot. I'm sure Scott fans will like this story, especially fans of a lot of great description of the Scottish landscape and well-researched Scottish dialect.

I would have just passed this one off as an okay read but something really bothered me. First of all, poor Fiona was abused by her first husband. Then, Kirkhill was shocked when she was terrified of him when he spanked her like a naughty child and then when he shook her another time he got angry. Then, in classic abuser fashion, Kirkhill tells her not to worry that he'd never hurt her. This turned me off in a big way.

I really liked Flory, Fiona's maid. There were definitely parts of the story when I was cheering for her "You go girl!" She had the type of forward-thinking modern mentality that I personally prefer for historical heroines to have.


Main Characters: 3/5
Supporting Characters: 4/5 (yay Flory!)

Setting: 3/5

Romance: 2/5

Uniqueness:3/5
Cover: 3/5
Writing: 3/5


Bottom Line:The romance moved slow for me and seemed to take a backseat to the rest of the action. This book would be best for fans of Scott and Scottish highland romances.



GIVEAWAY RULES:

Hachette
books has generously provided FIVE copies of this historical romance for readers of my blog!

All you have to do is follow my blog publicly and leave a comment on this review with your email address!

Please follow publicly or I can't tell that you are following :) Also, if you aren't comfortable leaving your email here, go ahead and leave a comment and then send me an email with your email addy.

Extra Entries:
  • +2 Tweet this contest (leave link in comment)
  • +2 Post link in sidebar of your blog (leave link in comment)

Rules:
  • US and Canada only
  • No PO Boxes please
  • Must be a follower to enter
  • Extra entries are optional and can all be left in the same comment
  • Leave a comment with your email address
  • Books will be mailed out by Hachette
  • Ends Saturday July 24
Thanks to everyone for entering! Good luck!

23 comments:

Felicia the Geeky Blogger said...

*not entering*

I have to say that book looks like it would be a great read. I love historicals they just transport you to another time :)

Dara Young said...

I love anything in a kilt...as long as it's a man. :D

I'm a GFC follower and
+2 for tweeting: http://twitter.com/dyromance/statuses/18609239981

tetewa said...

I'm a follower, count me in! tWarner419@aol.cm

Juju at Tales of Whimsy.com said...

You have been rocking the giveaways :)
*high five*
You go girl!
(not an entry)

Meljprincess said...

I enjoy Amanda's books and I'd love to win TEMPTED to take with me on my vacation to Scotland this fall! Thanks!

New follower.

Mel K.
Meljprincess AT aol DOT com

elaing8 said...

Please count me in
I am a follower
elaing8(at)netscape(dot)net

elaing8 said...

tweeted
http://twitter.com/elaing8/status/18622166116

elaing8(at)netscape(dot)net

Blodeuedd said...

Why the heck did he spank and do that to her, after everything she had been through. Nope doesn't appeal to me

Carrie at In the Hammock Blog said...

Blodeudd, I know!! I really couldn't believe it!! I felt so strongly about it, I had to share, and/or warn others.

Cheryl F. {The Lucky Ladybug} said...

Publicly following In the Hammock with Google Friend Connect [Cheryl F. {The Lucky Ladybug}] -- I enjoyed your review and would love to read Tempted by a Warrior :) *Thanks* for the giveaway!

+2 Tweeted the giveaway

+2 Linked the giveaway in sidebar, Delicious

theluckyladybug[at]gmail[dot]com

LilMissMolly said...

I'd love to win a copy of Amanda's new book.
I'm a old follower.
lvsgund @ gmail . com

throuthehaze said...

I am a follower :)
throuthehaze at gmail dot com

Buried in Books said...

I just hopped over from Parajunkee's Friday blog hop. I'm following you now, what a beautiful site. I tweeted all three contests, but I don't know how to link it to twitter. My site is Imburiedinbooks. I'm flustered because an author I've been bugging for an interview with said yes right after I asked and I didn't even notice! And I'll link the giveaway in the sidebar so that's plus 4 and my email is hrose2931@gmail.com

Kailia Sage said...

I'm a follower!

twilightforever.edward(at)gmail(dot)com

Jules@OneBookShy said...

Thank you for the honest review. I'm a big Amanda Scott fan and am looking forward to reading this book.

onebookshy (at) yahoo dot com

allisonsbj3 said...

Follower!

allisonsbj3(at)gmail(dot)com

pixie13 said...

GFC Follower & would love to win this book. Please count me in. Thanks!
Tweet http://twitter.com/pixie13sweeps/status/18877097118

gevin13{at}gmail{dot}com

CrystalGB said...

Great review. Sounds good. I love the cover.

Crystal816[at]hotmail[dot}com

Darcie K. said...

I follow!
dmkayes@gmail.com

rubynreba said...

Great giveaway! I've been wanting to read this. I am a follower.
pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

Terrymac said...

This book sounds so exciting! I now follow publicly, looking forward to reading more of your reviews and giveaways.

Thank you for hosting Tempted by a Warrior. Being Scottish myself, this book now is even more intriguing! Definitely added to my must read summer list.

terrymac1a at hotmail dot com

Vidisha said...

I am a follower

vidishamun@gmail.com

Vidisha said...

I'm a follower

vidishamun@gmail.com

Post a Comment

Thanks so much for your lovely comments!

Related Posts with Thumbnails